Boy Azooga’s 1, 2 Kung Fu Crowned Welsh Music Prize Winner 2018

Home  |  Sidearea   |  Blog   |  Boy Azooga’s 1, 2 Kung Fu Crowned Welsh Music Prize Winner 2018

Boy Azooga’s 1, 2 Kung Fu Crowned Welsh Music Prize Winner 2018

Boy Azooga was announced as the winner of the Welsh Music Prize 2018 for their album 1, 2 Kung Fu during a prestigious award ceremony at The Exchange Hotel, Cardiff Bay on Wednesday 7th November.

The album was chosen by a panel of industry experts from a shortlist of twelve albums representing the scope of the music being produced from Wales.

Boy Azooga’s debut album, 1,2, Kung Fu is piloted by Davey Newington who is joined by friends Daf Davies, Dylan Morgan and Sam Barnes to form the Boy Azooga quartet when playing live.

Released on Heavenly records in June 2018, it has put this Cardiff outfit firmly on radio playlists and on one to watch lists up and down the UK.

Upon winning the award, Davey said: “It feels amazing to be recognised along with the all the other amazing artists who have won this prize. Thank you!”

The legendary Meic Stevens was also honoured with an award on the evening for his contribution to Welsh music – the first recipient of the inaugural Welsh Music Inspiration Award.

Welsh Music Prize 2018 shortlisted albums were:

  • Alex Dingley ‘Beat the Babble’
  • Astroid Boys ‘Broke’
  • Boy Azooga ‘1,2, Kung Fu’
  • Bryde ‘Like an Island’
  • Eugene Capper & Rhodri Brooks ‘Pontvane’
  • Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita ‘SOAR’
  • Gwenno ‘Le Kov’
  • Gruff Rhys ‘Babelsberg’
  • Manic Street Preachers ‘Resistance Is Futile’
  • MELLT ‘Mae’n Hawdd Pan Ti’n Ifanc’
  • Seazoo ‘Trunks’
  • Toby Hay ‘The Longest Day’

Boy Azooga join a stellar line-up of previous prize recipients including Gruff Rhys (2011), Future of the Left (2012), Georgia Ruth (2013), Joanna Gruesome (2014), Gwenno (2015), Meilyr Jones (2016) and the Gentle Good (2017).

Huw Stephens said: “Congratulations to Boy Azooga on their Welsh Music Prize award! The judges had a tough job of deciding the winner, but all were agreed that 1, 2 Kung Fu, the debut album by the Cardiff band, was a worthy winner. The quality of music was exceptionally high this year. Boy Azooga have had a remarkable year, and we are all very proud of them.”

The winner was decided by a panel of industry experts made up of Lyndsey Dawkins (The Great Escape), Phil Taggart (BBC Radio 1), Sammy Jones (Metro Wales), Peter Robinson (Popjustice / Guardian), Jude Rogers (Journalist – Guardian), Minty (Minty’s Gig Guide), and Sioned Edwards (Eisteddfod Genedlaethol Cymru).

The eighth Welsh Music Prize is sponsored by Welsh Government Creative Industries, PPL, PRS for Music with support from Cowshed, British Council Wales, Musicians’ Union and the Exchange Hotel.

Rebecca Gould, Head of Arts Wales, British Council, said: “Welsh Music Prize is a major asset for the Welsh music scene, wins and nominations give artists a platform which aids with the recognition and export of Welsh music internationally, showcasing Welsh talent and reaching new audiences around the world.

“As illustrated by our International Showcasing Strategy for the Arts of Wales, showcasing and marketing opportunities such as WMP are crucial in furthering Wales’ global cultural reputation.”

For more information about the Welsh Music Prize go to or follow @welshmusicprize.


Development Bank of Wales supports 344 Welsh businesses in first year


Welsh company to preview new diabetic foot care system on World Diabetes Day